Financial Web Site Tip of the Month – Retailmenot.com

Since my wife and I have had our child in August she has stayed home 100%. We both felt the benefits of having a parent home for the child far outweighed the financial hardships of going to a single income household.

That being said we have been searching for ways to cover our expenses and way of life on a tighter budget. A site I stumbled upon this morning is www.retailmenot.com.

What is RetailMeNot.com?

RetailMeNot is a site is a clearing house of online codes and coupons to be applied at nearly all major retailers. The way I stumbled upon this site was while I was checking out on a Christmas gift for my wife I had a code, but it was only a 10% discount at check-out. I did a quick search for Google for other promotional codes and found RetailMeNot.com. Not only did this site have my current code, but it had an additional code for 15% off. So I quickly changed the codes out and saved an additional 5% on a $100+ purchase. Not a bad savings for 3 minutes of work.

This web site will surely become a last second check on all purchases we make going forward. I personally am a bit skeptical on coupons as I still have a nagging feeling they in the end make you send more than you typically would, or buy products you would not normally purchase. But for those instances where you were going to buy an item anyway coupons and online codes cannot be beat!

Going forward RetailMeNot.com will become part of my morning routine with Slickdeals.net and Cowboom.com. These three sites alone have paid for themselves time and time again.

 

 

About odysseustoday

25 year old man starting his financial journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Financial Web Site Tip of the Month – Retailmenot.com

  1. There is obviously a lot to know about this. I think you made some good points in Features also.
    Keep working ,great job!

  2. I prefer Quicktoclick.com for online coupons rather than Retailmenot. Retailmenot lists a lot more codes but I have found that most do not work. You waste time typing them in but rarely get the discount promised.

    Quicktoclick’s coupons work or they don’t display them. I appreciate that.

  3. mydealsplash says:

    I still prefer RetailMeNot over the other two website. If you are looking for free stuff and daily hot deals with coupons, check out http://www.mydealsplash.com/.

Leave a Reply

