Introduction

Greetings,

This blog is for the person who is interested in following how a couple of 20-somethings start their financial lives from debt, investments, retirement, college savings, trips and all the little life decisions in between.

Let’s first start out with why I created this blog.

I am a brand new professional just starting out in my career. Before my current position my resume consisted of a couple of summers at a movie theater and a sprinkle of summer internships at the college. That being said, the day I got my first pay check I was somewhat lost. I placed it in the bank, paid our bills and then did not know what to do next. Over the past 15 months I have made some financial decisions (some good and some bad). The goal of this blog is to allow me to document and reflect on the financial decisions we have made, what current financial decisions we are planning to make, and what financial decisions we may have no idea we need to make. I am a firm believer in full disclosure so I will update posts weekly with screen shots of my wife and my current finances to keep the readers posted on our progress.


Why Odysseustoday?

Much like the hero Odysseus young people today have to travel many years and go through many hardships or trials to achieve their financial peace of mind. I have always been a lover of mythology and actually got a major in Ancient Mediterranean Studies in college purely for interest sake. The over arching theme that struck me in my studies is that people believe we have achieved great strides over our ancestors, yet if you read a  play or a speech from 2,000 years ago you would be surprised how current and relevant their words can be. People have not changed in 2,000 years, they merely have new toys and a bigger pond to play in.

Below is a little bit of bio to help orient you to who we are, where we are, and what our backgrounds are.

I am a 26-year-old male. I am in a loving marriage of two years and we are expecting our first child this coming up August.  I just graduated with my MHA (Masters in  Healthcare Administration) and work for a hospital system in Texas. My Wife is a LMSW (Licensed Masters in Social Work) and is currently a director for a local foster care/adoption agency in town.

About odysseustoday

25 year old man starting his financial journey.
This entry was posted in Finances and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Introduction

  1. Welcome to the pf world. With a background in mythology I am looking forward to how you weave in some of the old fables. Congratulations too! It will be exciting… and expensive!

Leave a Reply

